There's much to see here. So, take your time, look around, and learn all there is to know about Anderson County.
Originally built in 1885, a fire destroyed the building, except the lower floor was saved, on April 28, 1924, about 8 a.m.
August 1924 - $30,000 in school bonds were passed to build a new school, with the intention of salvaging the old building and erecting a four room structure on the site.
February 19, 1925 - Longfellow school building, west side, has taken shape and is well on it's way to completion.
August 27, 1925 - Longfellow school is just completed and ready for youngsters. Two separate sections were added to each side (east and west) of the original building. The building has 4 classrooms on the upper level, 4 classrooms in the new wings, an auditorium, stage, rest rooms, office area, furnace room, storage, etc., in the basement.
September 3, 1925 - A reception was held to reopen the school building.
February 4, 1993 - Historical Society acquires Longfellow School for a museum.
March 7-8, 1998 - Vandals do $200,000 damage to the museum. Building was reopened June 16, 1998 - but much work still needed to be done. Building needed repaired, most all the showcase glass restored, totally repainted, recarpeting done, and all artifacts cleaned and rearranged.
May 9, 1999 - Museum Grand Re-Opening held with a bar-b-que on the grounds.
Original Longfellow School 1885-1924